Friday, July 17, 2009

Permanent Teeth

Dear Readers and Patients,

The set of teeth that grow after the primary teeth is called PERMANENT DENTITION.

Permanent teeth are also known as secondary or adult teeth. They are 32 in number.
As I said in my previous post about the primary teeth, their number is 20. The permanent teeth that replace the primary teeth are also 20. The other 12 do not replace other teeth. They grow in the empty space after the baby molars.
Permanent teeth are bigger than baby teeth. I would like to pay attention to something important here.

Have you noticed that children usually have spaces between their primary teeth? Many parents ask me why?

These spaces allow larger permanent teeth that come after the milk ones to take their place in the dental arch. Of course, the jaws begin to grow at the same time. My experience has shown me that when these spaces are small or missing the child has an orthodontic problem at a later stage. And that's logical.

The first permanent tooth that usually erupts is the first molar that is in the empty space after the last primary molar. This happens around the age of six, but may be earlier or later than this age. The primary incisors then fall, and their place is occupied by permanent incisors.

I have observed that the replacement of the incisors can precede the eruption of the first molar, or both the first permanent molar and incisors can appear simultaneously. As a rule, the first molar erupts first, but in reality there may be different variations.

When all primary teeth fall and they are replaced by permanent ones and the second permanent molars have grown, we can say that we have a stage of PERMANENT DENTITION.
This period is usually between fourteen and fifteen years of age when the second permanent molars appear. The third molars- also known as WISDOM teeth erupt later, after seventeen, eighteen years of age. Sometimes they do not erupt or appear 1, 2, 3, 4, even more or there are no wisdom teeth at all.

Please see my other post – Wisdom Teeth

Permanent teeth are divided into four different types: INCISORS, CANINES, PREMOLARS AND MOLARS.
They are divided into these types depending on their shape, location in the dental arch and their function.

INCISORS are located in the front of the mouth and their function is to bite the food. That's why they have a sharp edge. They are four in the upper jaw (also called the maxillary arch and four in the lower jaw (also called the mandibular arch) .The two incisors in the centre of the arch are called central incisors, while the incisors next to them, which are smaller, are called lateral incisors. These teeth have one root.

The second type of teeth is called CANINE. These teeth are also known as CUSPIDS. They are two on the maxillary arch and two on the lower jaw and they have one root. Their function is to tear the food. They are the most stable teeth because they have a root that is longer than the roots of the other teeth in the mouth. They usually last longer than other teeth. Their long root and their location at the corner of the arch makes them extremely important for the good retention of various types of removable and immobile dentures in the case of dental treatment.

PREMOLARS are the next type that does not exist in the primary dentition. They replace the milk teeth and are located between the canines and the molars in the dental arch. That is why their form and function is intermediate - they tear the food and at the same time participate in the grinding of the food. These teeth may have one or two roots. Their number is 8 to 4 in each jaw.

The last type of teeth is called MOLARS. They are twelve - six in the upper and six in the lower jaw. Their function is to grind the food. That is why they have large surfaces with four, five or more cusps. The shape, size of the teeth, and the location of the roots are different from the teeth of the lower jaw. The cusps on the upper molars fit into the grooves of the lower molars, so they could better grind the food.
The last molars are called Wisdom teeth. Their shape and size can vary greatly.

Please look at the post- Wisdom Teeth
I would like to pay attention to a very important fact.

Once erupted, the teeth continue to mature. This is called mineralization of the structure of the teeth and usually lasts for 4 years after permanent teeth come up. In this period, the enamel is very fragile, like the rest of the tooth, and it is prone to decay. There is a great risk of caries and associated complications.

That is why it is extremely important to create a good diet and good oral hygiene for children. Regular dental check-ups are also very important.

Please remember that the health of the teeth and the oral cavity is related to your overall health.

I hope with all my heart that you will do everything in your power so that you and your children can enjoy excellent health, healthy teeth and gums and will smile with BRILLIANT smiles.

Faithfully yours,
Dr. Trenkova


  1. "I've been trying out fillers for quite some time now, and honestly, even though it's really expensive I find it to be worth it!!!! I have been
    looking for places where I can at least get the best price (with a matching quality of course). Can anybody suggest some places where
    I can look more into it? I've been to and but I wanna find the best match as possible! Please help, thanx =)

  2. If you happen to only floss once a day, it should be at night time before you go to sleep.

  3. Thank you very much. It is always better to do it more than once a day.


Oral Health and Well-Being

Dear Readers, I created this dental blog in 2009 to be helpful with many dental issues that may concern you. Those of you who have read...